Saturdays of a Moscow student: the city of opportunities

18 areas of study, hundreds of educational venues, more than 620 thousand participants comprise “Saturdays of a Moscow Student” city educational project which marks its fifth anniversary in September. The article provides an overview of the project opportunities for young Muscovites.

The project started in 2013 with the “University Saturdays”  programme. Several Moscow universities invited students not only for “university taster days”, but also to immerse in possible careers, to discuss trends in science, to get acquainted with professors. Over the five years more than 50 institutions of higher education have joined the programme. These institutions invite not only children, but also their parents for the “Saturdays”. Moreover, “University Saturdays” gave rise to “Engineering Saturdays” and “Saturdays of Legal Literacy”.

 

 

“University Saturdays are very useful for schoolchildren. They help kids to decide on their professional intentions. Gradually they start to realize where to study and what career path to choose. On the Engineering Saturdays at MAI schoolchildren always ask plenty of questions, we see their interest and try to tell them as much as possible not only about trends in aviation science, but also about our institute.”

Alexander Efremov, Dean of the Aircraft Engineering Faculty, Moscow Aviation Institute (MAI)

 

 

“Engineering Saturdays” open up for children a whole new world of cutting-edge technologies. Students can explore such technologies as remote control robots, 3D-printing and virtual reality, laser and nanotechnologies in modern medicine. Meetings are held at college usability laboratories, industrial zones, robotariums in Centers for Technological Support in Education, as well as in leading technical and technological universities of Moscow. “Engineering Saturdays” are popular among those students who keep up to date with the progress and want to get the profession for the future.

 

 

To learn about laws, their rights and duties children can join “Saturdays of Legal Literacy” programme. Quests and workshops enable kids to learn the basics of jurisprudence and prepare for adult life in a metropolis. During 2017-2018 academic year more than 138,000 students have attended the programme.
Another programme, launched in the city to help students reveal their talents and choose their profession, is called  “Professional Environment”.
The idea is to create an open dialogue between schoolchildren or parents and businessmen, masters of vocational education, established professionals. Internships, trainings, talk shows, games and workshops help children become familiar with the most popular jobs in tourism, economics, education, medicine, transport and logistics, construction and design, IT and telecommunications, manufacturing industry. Over the past academic year more than 35,000 students participated in this programme.

 

 

Leaders of student self-government and children with active civil position, who plan to link their future career with public work, are welcome to attend “Activists Saturdays” programme.

 

 

It allows young people to acquire skills of teamwork and effective communication, to learn about challenges of urban development, to visit the Moscow City Duma and meet with the deputies.
For children, who are interested in military and space topics, there are such projects as “Saturdays Of Courage” and “Space Saturdays”.

 

 

Young patriots can take part in marching and fire trainings, become acquainted with latest samples of military vehicles and equipment, and even test drive them, visit leading military universities in the capital, military units of the Moscow garrison and military museums. And for to-be cosmonauts there are lectures and excursions, where they can study the history of the world and national cosmonautics. Every year more than 15,000 students take part in these two programmes. To become experts in history children can participate in the events of  “Historical Saturdays” programme..
Here they will learn about the rich heritage of our country, that should not be forgotten. Thematic and interactive excursions, quizzes, quests are being organized on various city sites, including historical park “Russia Is My History”, the Victory Museum on Poklonnaya Hill, the Museum of Contemporary History of Russia, the Museum of Moscow.
To get acquainted with famous artists, gallery owners, leading art-managers and curators of exhibitions and festivals, to learn how to draw in different styles, and to visit the most interesting cultural events in the city students are offered to join  “Art Saturdays” programme.

 

 

For those who are used to spending their weekends actively, there is “Sports Saturdays” programme. It includes physical classes and games, city sports festivals and holidays, meetings with famous athletes and coaches, and trips to competitions, where students can become a fan and support their favorite sportsmen and teams. More than 3,800 children attended the project over the last academic year.

 

 

“Professional internships” introduce high school students to the opportunities of the chosen profession. Children are invited to become members of the youth career club, where they are taught the skills of job hunting and self-presentation. They can also visit the “Laboratory of Entrepreneurship” and get acquainted with businessmen and business coaches, participate in quest routes, workshops, and coaching sets.

 

 

The “Saturday Of A Moscow Student” project helps children understand how versatile a person’s life in a metropolitan is. It consists of ecological issues, rational resource consumption, recycling of materials, answers to which can be obtained at the “Eco-Saturdays” programme.
On the other hand, it is important for a modern citizen to be competent in questions of personal finance management, taxes, market instruments and banking products. These topics are studied at the “Financial and Entrepreneurial Saturdays” programme..

 

“I attended different events of University Saturdays programme. This helped me a lot choose the institute. After I listened to the speeches of professors from different universities, I realized that I want to devote my life to aviation, and I choose Moscow Aviation Institute.”

Roman, an 11th grade student

 

“Saturdays Of A Moscow Student is a very important project. It helps expand the horizons. You do not always get specific knowledge at its activities, for example, in physics or mathematics, but everything you hear can be useful for self-development and choosing the career.”

Anastasia, a 10th grade student

 

New themes and platforms for young Muscovites are being opened every year. In 2018 four new programmes have been launched: “IT Saturdays”, “TV Saturdays”, “Foresight Of Professional Success”and “Making Complex Things Simple”. In the coming academic year the city will launch a new programme — “Theatrical Saturdays”. It is expected, that the programme will help students learn the world of theatre from a new perspective: children will be able to go behind the scenes, to meet with actors and directors, to see the best plays on different stages of Moscow theatres.

 

 

Choose your “Saturday” and join the unique city project!

text: L. Serebryannik   photo: N. Arefieva, mos.ru

 

 

Share

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Субботы московского школьника: город возможностей

Уникальному проекту «Субботы московского школьника» в сентябре исполняется пять лет! Сегодня это 18 направлений, сотни образовательных площадок и более 620 тысяч участников. Мы узнали, какие возможности открывает город для юных жителей.

Проект стартовал в 2013 году с «Университетских суббот». Несколько вузов Москвы предложили школьникам не просто посещение в формате дня открытых дверей, а погружение в будущую профессию, общение на актуальные научные темы, знакомство с преподавателями. За пять лет к проекту присоединилось более 50 высших учебных заведений, которые «приглашают в гости» по субботам детей и взрослых. Кроме того, в рамках «Университетских суббот» были открыты две новые площадки — «Инженерные субботы» и «Субботы правовой грамотности».

 

 

«“Университетские субботы” — полезные мероприятия для школьников. Они помогают ребятам определиться с их желаниями и намерениями. Учащиеся постепенно понимают, какое направление им созвучно, куда и на какую специальность стоит идти, какую выбрать траекторию развития и как построить свою карьеру. На «Инженерных субботах» в МАИ мы всегда слышим много вопросов от школьников, видим их заинтересованность и стараемся рассказать им как можно больше не только об определенных научных направлениях, характерных для современного этапа развития авиации, но и нашем вузе».

Александр Ефремов, декан факультета «Авиационная техника» Московского авиационного института

 

 

Дистанционно управлять роботами, разобраться в 3D-печати и виртуальной реальности, понять, как работает лазер и какие нанотехнологии применяются в современной медицине — на «Инженерных субботах» для детей по-новому открывается мир современных технологий. Встречи проходят в учебно-практических лабораториях, производственных зонах, роботариумах Центров технологической поддержки образования, а также ведущих технических и технологических вузах столицы. «Инженерные субботы» стали популярны среди тех, кто следит за прогрессом и хочет получить профессию будущего.

 

 

Узнать всё о законах, своих правах и обязанностях ребята могут на «Субботах правовой грамотности». В увлекательном формате квестов и мастер-классов школьники постигают азы юриспруденции и готовятся ко взрослой жизни в мегаполисе. Только за 2017-2018 учебный год мероприятия «Университетских суббот» посетили более 138 тысяч человек.
Чтобы помочь учащимся раскрыть свои таланты и сделать осознанный выбор профессиональной траектории, в городе запустили проект «Профессиональная среда».
Это место открытого диалога школьников и их родителей с бизнесменами, мастерами производственного обучения, специалистами. В ходе стажировок, тренингов, ток-шоу, игр и мастер-классов дети могут ближе познакомиться с самыми востребованными специальностями в различных сферах: туризм, экономика, образование, медицина, транспорт и логистика, строительство и проектирование, IT-рынок, телекоммуникации, обрабатывающая промышленность. За прошедший учебный год в проекте «Профессиональная среда» приняли участие более 35 тысяч детей.

 

 

Лидеров ученического самоуправления и ребят с активной жизненной и гражданской позицией, планирующих связать свое будущее с общественной деятельностью, ждут на «Субботах активиста».

 

 

Участвуя в проекте, юноши и девушки приобретают навыки командной работы и эффективной коммуникации, знакомятся с актуальными вопросами развития города, посещают Московскую городскую думу и общаются с депутатами.
Для ребят, которым интересна военная и космическая тематика, были созданы отдельные направления — «Субботы мужества» и «Космические субботы».

 

 

Юные патриоты могут принять участие в мастер-классах по строевой и огневой подготовке, вождению и знакомству с новейшими образцами военной техники, посетить ведущие военные вузы столицы, воинские части Московского гарнизона и городские музеи. А будущих космонавтов ждут на лекциях и экскурсиях, где они могут узнать историю мировой и отечественной космонавтики. Ежегодно в «Субботах мужества» и «Космических субботах» участвуют более 15 тысяч человек.
Стать знатоками истории можно на мероприятиях «Исторических суббот».
Здесь каждый поймет, что прошлое — это богатое наследие нашей страны, о котором нельзя забывать. На разных площадках города: в историческом парке «Россия — моя история», Музее Победы на Поклонной горе, Музее современной истории России, Музее Москвы — проходят тематические и интерактивные экскурсии, викторины, квесты.
Познакомиться с известными художниками, галеристами, ведущими арт-менеджерами и кураторами выставок и фестивалей, научиться рисовать картины в разных жанрах, а также посетить самые интересные культурные мероприятия города учащиеся могут в рамках «Арт-суббот».

 

 

Для тех, кто привык проводить выходные активно, были организованы «Спортивные субботы». Физические занятия и игры, посещение городских физкультурно-спортивных фестивалей и праздников, встречи с известными спортсменами и тренерами и, конечно, поездки на соревнования, где каждый может научиться культуре болельщика и поддержать любимую команду. Свыше 3800 ребят побывали на «Спортивных субботах» в прошлом учебном году.

 

 

«Профессиональные стажировки» знакомят старшеклассников с перспективами развития в выбранной специальности. Детей приглашают стать членами молодежного карьерного клуба, где их обучат навыкам поиска работы и самопрезентации на открытом рынке труда, посетить «Лабораторию предпринимательства» и познакомиться с бизнесменами и бизнес-тренерами, участвовать в квест-маршрутах, мастер-классах, коуч-сетах.

 

 

Благодаря проекту «Субботы московского школьника» дети понимают, насколько многогранна жизнь человека в мегаполисе. Здесь есть место и вопросам сохранения экологии, рационального ресурсопотребления, вторичного использования материалов, ответы на которые можно получить на «Экосубботах».
С другой стороны, современному горожанину важно обладать знаниями об управлении личными финансами и формировании бюджета, налогах и налоговой отчетности, рыночных инструментах и банковских продуктах. Эти темы поднимаются на «Финансовых и предпринимательских субботах».

 

«Я ездил на разные мероприятия “Университетских суббот”. Это мне очень помогло определиться с институтом. Послушав выступления педагогов из разных вузов, я понял, что хочу связать свою жизнь с авиацией, и выбрал МАИ».

Роман, ученик 11 класса

 

«“Субботы московского школьника” — очень важные мероприятия, они расширяют кругозор. Там не всегда получаешь конкретные знания, например, по физике или математике, но всё услышанное может пригодиться для саморазвития и выбора профессии в будущем».

Анастасия, учащаяся 10 класса

 

«Субботы московского школьника» ежегодно открывают новые темы и площадки для москвичей. Только за 2018 год в рамках проекта появились четыре направления: «IT-субботы», «Телевизионные субботы», «Форсайт профессионального успеха» и «Просто о сложном». В новом учебном году школьников ждет очередной подарок от города — новый проект «Театральные субботы». Для столичных ребят по-новому откроется мир театра: они смогут побывать за кулисами, прийти на встречи с известными актерами и режиссерами, посмотреть лучшие постановки на разных сценах столицы.

 

 

Выбери свою субботу и стань участником масштабного городского проекта!

текст: Л. Серебрянник   фото: Н. Арефьева, mos.ru

 

 

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Поделиться

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: